Questions? Call us at 1-800-979-8971

Infrared Sauna Certifications – What Do ETL, RoHS, CE, ISO: 9001 Mean?

Defining And Understanding The Terms Of International Certifications

As a consumer, it is important to ensure that all health and wellness related products come with the stamp of approval from both national and international organizations that guarantee safety, health, and quality control.

Before products can be put into circulation on the consumer market it is important, and sometimes legally necessary, that they are able to meet both safety and quality control standards. Several organizations provide laboratory testing to monitor the safety of certain products. Once these standards are met the product is stamped with approval under the auspice of different acronyms that represent varying organizations, which focus on the specific needs of consumer interest in different geographical locations.

ETL, RoHS, CE, and ISO: 9001 are four different certification programs for products to ensure that high standards are met in different parts of the world. Find out what these acronyms mean, where the respective certifications apply, and in what industry they are used.

Protect your consumer interest by ensuring that your product of choice is marked by the high standards upheld by quality and safety control organizations.

ETL Stamp: North American Certification For Total Quality Assured

The ETL stamp of product approval means that the manufacturer has created a product that is in compliance with North American safety standards. Authorities and code officials across the US and Canada regard the ETL mark as proof of product compliance to industry standards.

The ETL mark is a symbol that the product and manufacturer of the product have met the safety certification standards in North America. Intertek, the organization that provides the ETL mark, is one of the world’s largest testing, inspection, and certification endowment institutions.

Before making a purchase of a product in the field of health and wellness be sure that it comes with the mark of ETL! Ensure that your merchandise has been approved to meet safety and health regulations by looking for the ETL mark if you are living in the United States or Canada.

RoHS: A Necessary Certification For All Electrical Products

RoHs stands for Restriction Of Hazardous Substances and specifically ensures that the electrical industry produces products to meet the necessary health and safety standards and protect consumers.

The specific importance of product control in the electronics industry means that certain hazardous material, components, and elements found in many electrical devices are categorically restricted or kept to a standardized minimum.

RoHS was developed to serve the safety needs of consumers in the European Union in 2002. As the technology industry grows at exponential rates, it is imperative that new products meet the required compliance of RoHS.

Any company manufacturing electrical appliances (small or large) ought to be RoHS certified: this will ensure that detrimental elements and harmful emissions are kept to a minimum.

If you buy a product that is RoHS compliant you can rest assured that potentially dangerous metals and toxins are kept to a standardized minimum. Below is a list of what RoHS approved products provide:

· Cadmium (Cd): <100 ppm
· Lead (Pb): < 1000 ppm
· Mercury (Hg): < 1000 ppm
· Hexavalent Chromium (Cr VI): < 1000 ppm
· Polybrominated Biphenyls (PBB): < 1000 ppm
· Polybrominated Diphenyl Ethers (PBDE): < 1000 ppm
· Di-2-ethylhexyl phthalate (DEHP): < 1000 ppm
· Benzyl butyl phthalate (BBP): <1000 ppm
· Dibutyl phthalate (DBP): < 1000 ppm
· Diisobutyl phthalate (DIBP): <1000 ppm

Ensure your health and safety free from the above mentioned potentially hazardous elements by purchasing products that are accompanied by a RoHS stamp of approval.

CE Marking: European Economic Area Standard for Safety, Health, And Environment Protection

All products sold in the European Economic Area (EEA) must be accompanied by the mark of CE. Even if products are manufactured elsewhere they must be CE compliant to meet EEA standards.

From a teddy bear to a refrigerator you will find the CE mark on all EEA products. This ensures products meet high safety standards, health requirements, and also environmental protection standards.

The CE seal ensures all products meet the compliance standards developed to harmonize the legislation of the EEA. Consumers can rest assured the products they purchase are in compliance with high safety, health, and environmental concerns! The CE mark is particularly relevant for consumers living in Europe and may not apply to other geographical areas.

ISO: 9001: An Internationally Recognized Certification For Quality Control

Infrared sauna certification ISO 9001.

The International Organization For Standardization (ISO) was initially drafted in 1987. ISO: 9001 is an international standard of certification for companies that ensures consumers receive consistency in quality control of services and goods. This certification is an example of a quality management system (QMS), which organizations use to meet international quality code standards.

Depending on the industry, an ISO: 9001 is either a legal necessity or a helpful standard of approval that guarantees consumers the ease of mind knowing that the purchased goods or services are bound by law to a high standard.

ISO: 9001 is an updated code of standardization that was released in September of 2015 and is represented and upheld in 160 different countries around the world. Regardless of what country you live in, products marked by ISO: 9001 will guarantee the highest standard in product control.

As a consumer, find ease of mind by ensuring that your product is stamped with ISO: 9001!

Standardized Certifications Ensure The Highest Quality Product For Your Health And Safety As Well As Environmental Protection

In an effort to protect the rights of consumers it is important to familiarize yourself with the meaning of different acronyms providing product certifications. In a melting pot of letters, it can become confusing to identify what they mean and what standards are represented. Understanding the meaning of these four organizations: ETL, RoSH, CE, and ISO: 9001 will help you choose products that are upheld by external institutions that uphold the wellbeing of the consumer.

Become a conscious consumer and maintain the integrity of product consumption while simultaneously safeguarding your health and safety with products that meet the standards of international compliance control.

If you would like to learn more about what each of these organizations guarantees in their certification protocol, you can find all of the details at these websites:




ISO: 9001:

If you found reading these articles helpful and would like to know more about a specific topic, or had any questions for the author, please feel free to contact our Neosauna Team Author, Katarina Delacruz. She will be happy to help answer your questions or point you toward further resources.

You can reach her by email or via our website chat.